Ricky Gervais and our confused and hypocritical relationship with animals

Ricky Gervais and our confused and hypocritical relationship with animals
by Ian Sinclair
Morning Star
12 May 2014

As a man who seems to take immense pride in his own rational and scientific view of the world, the comedian Ricky Gervais will no doubt be surprised to learn that he encapsulates our confused and hypocritical relationship with animals.

Let me explain. Speaking to the Guardian recently, Gervais said his cat was his most treasured possession and that “that one thing that really depresses me is animal cruelty.” This concurs with his many tweets on the subject and also an interview he did with GQ magazine: “I love animals. Growing up, the two things that made my blood boil were religious intolerance and animal cruelty. I’ve never understood it. I can’t stand to have an animal in pain. I’ve got to get it out of my head. It makes me angry, I want to cry, I want to stab someone.”

Like Gervais, we are, as the oft-repeated saying goes, a nation of animal lovers. And like Gervais, most of us eat meat. Now, call me old fashioned, but elementary logic suggests you can’t love animals and be a meat-eater at the same time. What with killing and eating them and everything. For example, if I was writing a list of things I wouldn’t do to someone or something I love I’m pretty sure the first thing on the list would be “not eating it or them.” I love my partner, for example. This means, among many other things, that I wouldn’t eat my partner. At best a meat-eater is someone who loves animals that are fortunate to be loved by a human being. Cows, sheep, pigs, chickens, turkeys, pheasants, rabbits, goats, deer, horses – far from loving these animals, meat-eaters are one of their main enemies.

Claiming to be an animal lover while eating animals is especially bizarre considering one doesn’t need to eat animals to live a healthy life. In fact the weight of scientific evidence suggests a vegan or vegetarian diet is healthier than a meat-rich diet. And it’s better for the planet too. Gervais and many other people claim to love animals. But what could be crueler than killing an animal and eating it when one doesn’t need to do so to live a healthy life?

This next bit will be even less popular, but I want to go one step further and ask whether keeping animals as pets, as Gervais does, is compataible with being an animal lover.

I’ll put aside the fact Gervais recently starred in an advert (he needed the money, you see) in which he encouraged people to buy Audi cars, even though the leading cause of early death for domesticated cats is road accidents. What I’m interested in is whether Gervais and the millions of other people who keep cats and dogs as pets really keep them with the animal’s best interests at heart.

Take the neutering of cats and dogs. This is an invasive and brutal operation which helps human society but seems to take away a fairly fundamental part of being an animal – procreation. How many dogs and cats try to neuter themselves before they are sent for the snip to the vet? Have you ever come home to find your puppy fumbling with one of your kitchen knives trying to sever its own bollocks? Or caught your kitten trying to dial the number of the local veterinary office on the cordless? People often put bells on their cats to stop them being successful hunters. Dogs are made to obey humans and are fed and exercised according to our timetable. Dogs and cats are often left in the house, sometimes in one room, often alone, while we go about our human business. As I mention above the RSPCA (aswell as anecdotal evidence) shows that the motor vehicle is a great danger to cats. Yet millions of people continue to keep cats in urban areas.

Clearly, then, pets are looked after and loved to the extent they fit in with our often busy human lives and all too human peccadillos. In short, human interest overrides animal wellbeing if the two clash. This is because we keep pets primarily for our own wellbeing, not for animals benefit. This is implicit in the first statement on the BBC Ethics webpages looking at keeping pets: “Keeping pets gives many people companionship and great happiness.”

To be clear, I’m not claiming the moral high ground. I’m not a vegan and have been known to get emotionally attached to domesticated animals. And I’m not making light of Gervais’s important work on animal welfare – I support all progressive activism, reformist or radical. However, I do think it’s important to think critically about a subject that is pretty much taboo today. With the environmental impact of keeping pets and eating meat so high perhaps the existential threat of runaway climate change means it is a good time to start a conversation about our mixed-up relationship with animals?

5 thoughts on “Ricky Gervais and our confused and hypocritical relationship with animals

  1. mike and brandy

    great article and excellent points. moving towards a more vegetarian diet and vegan lifestyle is the best thing we can do for the animals, the planet and ourselves and families. I’m not there fully either, but I’m moving in that direction. thx again.
    -mike

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thoman Chin

    I support the legalization of eating cats. They’re useless in nature; rather they’re the second worst species in terms of fauna eradication after humans.

    Like

    Reply
  3. caroline forbes

    neutering cats and dogs is not brutal it’s fairly painless Medical operation that they heal from quickly and if you had any idea how much suffering it prevented if you actually worked in shelters or rescued animals like I do you would understand that your point is inane. as for keeping cats and dogs I will always do that I love them and I will keep them and in all other ways I am trying to be vegan I don’t eat dead bodies of animals and many animal rights activists said I know also dumps but whether someone is vegetarian or vegan is their choice and all I can do is share what I know about being a vegan and try to help everyone make that choice our children are dying of obesity and heart disease in record numbers because the dead bodies that we feed them are poison and I think that’s the main point also Ricky does car advertisements and donates money to causes.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ianjs2014 Post author

      Hi Caroline.

      Thanks for your comment.

      It’s not so much that the operation is painless, more that it is carried out at all. And I think I understand the reasons for doing it. I just think they are reasons that help human society rather than have the best interests of the animal at heart. What suffering does it prevent?

      I don’t doubt virtually all pet owners love their animals. My point is whether human interests trump the animals interests. And clearly in many cases it does.

      And whether Ricky Gervais donates his advertising money to animal causes isn’t really relevant.

      Ian

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

